1. K-State home
  2. »JMC
  3. »About JMC
  4. »Huck Boyd National Center for Community Media

A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Huck Boyd National Center for Community Media

Gloria Freeland, director

The center, located in the A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications at Kansas State University, was founded in 1990. The mission of the center is to serve and strengthen the local newspapers, radio stations, cable systems and other media that play a key role in the survival and revitalization of America's small towns.

The center affirms the fact that community and communication are inseparable; you cannot have community without communications. The director of the center is Gloria Freeland, assistant professor of journalism and mass communications at K-State. She has held the position since 1998.

The center:

  • Sponsors the annual Huck Boyd Lecture in Community Media
  • Works with the International Society of Weekly Newspaper Editors to promote “conversations in community journalism” between academicians and journalists working for community newspapers, with the goal of strengthening community journalism
  • Co-sponsored the annual "Newspapers and Community-Building Symposium" in conjunction with the National Newspaper Association's annual convention for 20 years
  • Supports research dealing with issues affecting community media and the health of their communities
  • Educates students about community media
  • Co-sponsored the Great Plains Radio History Symposium
  • Helps coordinate multicultural events at Kansas State University


2018 Huck Boyd Lecture Series - Penny Muse Abernathy

Panel Discussion: "Silent 'Signal': Baldwin City adjusts to life without a newspaper” 


Past speakers in the series:

  • 2018: Penny Muse Abernathy, Knight Chair in Journalism and Digital Media Economics, University of North Carolina, and author of "Saving Community Journalism: The Path to Profitability."
  • 2017: Lisa Silvestri, assist. prof. of communication studies at Gonzaga Univ., author of the book "Friended at the Front: Social Media in the American War Zone.
  • 2015: Rosalyn Durant, senior vice president, College Networks, Programming for ESPN
  • 2014: Jim McLean, executive editor of the Kansas Health Institute News Service
  • 2013: Jane Marshallcommunications coordinator for K-State’s College of Human Ecology
  • 2012: David Dary, author, broadcast journalist, historian and educator
  • 2011: Wilma Moore-Black, assistant director/curriculum coordinator for the TRIO Communication Upward Bound program in Wichita, Kan. and 1973 JMC graduate
  • 2010: Gail Pennybacker, WJLA-TV broadcast journalist in Washington, D.C. and 1981 JMC graduate
  • 2009: Scott Kraft, editor and roving correspondent for The Los Angeles Times and 1977 JMC graduate
  • 2008: Marlin Fitzwater, press secretary under presidents Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush and 1965 JMC graduate
  • 2007: Bill Buzenberg, investigative journalist for the Center for Public Integrity and 1969 JMC graduate
  • 2006: Clara Reyes, publisher and editor of Dos Mundos, a bilingual newspaper in Kansas City
  • 2005: Joe Posnanski, sports columnist for The Kansas City Star
  • 2004: Susan Edgerley, metropolitan editor for The New York Times and 1976 K-State graduate
  • 2003: Jim Richardson, photojournalist for National Geographic
  • 2002: Bill Kurtis, anchor, Arts and Entertainment network series
  • 2001: Paul Simon, U.S. senator from Illinois and director of the Public Policy Institute at Southern Illinois University
  • 1999: Bob Dole, U.S. senator from Kansas and 1996 Republican presidential candidate

The lecture is funded through annual donations from its generous patrons. We would like to take this opportunity to thank our 2018 patrons: 

Platinum Patrons ($200+)

  • Anne and Wally Brockhoff, Linwood, Kansas
  • Nancy Landon Kassebaum, Burdick, Kansas
  • Sarah Kessinger, Marysville Advocate, Marysville, Kansas
  • Bill and Debbie Miller, Council Grove, Kansas
  • Cy and Gladys Moyer, Phillipsburg, Kansas

Gold Patrons ($150-$199)

  • Doug Anstaett, Kansas Press Association
  • Linda Denning, Ellsworth County Independent-Reporter, Ellsworth, Kansas
  • Edward and Ned Seaton, Seaton Publishing Co., Inc.

Silver Patron ($100-$149)

  • Linda Cook, Manhattan, Kansas
  • Tony Crawford, Manhattan, Kansas
  • Ed Klimek, Optima Communications, Manhattan, Kansas
  • Thomas and Andrew Krauss, Russell, Kansas
  • Scott Stanford, Lawrence Journal-World, Ogden Newspapers, Lawrence, Kansas