1. K-State home
  2. »JMC
  3. »Current JMC Students
  4. »Composition Skills Test

A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Composition Skills Test

The Compositions Skills Test (CST) gauges a student's ability in grammar, spelling, and punctuation. To become a major in the A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications, a student must pass the CST with a score of 70 percent (or 35 out of 50 questions) or greater.

Students can sign up for a CST time in Kedzie 105 at least 24 hours before the test time. You may change your test time provided you give 24 hours notice and there is room available in the time slot you are wanting. You must have a K-State ID to take the test.

The test dates/times are as follows: (subject to change)

Summer 2017

 Tuesday, June 13, 2017

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Thursday, June 15, 2017

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Friday, June 16, 2017

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Saturday, June 17, 2017

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

 

 

 Tuesday, June 20, 2017

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Thursday, June 22, 2017

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Friday, June 23, 2017

1:00 - 1:50 p.m.

Fall 2017

Monday, August 28, 2017                   9:30am – 10:20am

Tuesday, August 29, 2017                  2:30pm – 3:20pm

Wednesday, August 30, 2017             11:30am – 12:20pm

Thursday, August 31, 2017                 8:30am – 9:20am

Friday, September 1, 2017                 10:30am – 11:20am

 

 

Monday, September 25, 2017            9:30am – 10:20am

Tuesday, September 26, 2017            2:30pm – 3:20pm

Wednesday, September 27, 2017      11:30am – 12:20pm

Thursday, September 28, 2017          8:30am – 9:20am

Friday, September 29, 2017               10:30am – 11:20am

 

 

Monday, October 23, 2017                 9:30am – 10:20am

Tuesday, October 24, 2017                 2:30pm – 3:20pm

Wednesday, October 25, 2017           11:30am – 12:20pm

Thursday, October 26, 2017               8:30am – 9:20am

Friday, October 27, 2017                    10:30am – 11:20am

 

 

Monday, November 13, 2017             9:30am – 10:20am

Tuesday, November 14, 2017             2:30pm – 3:20pm

Wednesday, November 15, 2017       11:30am – 12:20pm

Thursday, November 16, 2017           8:30am – 9:20am

Friday, November 17, 2017                10:30am – 11:20am

 

 


CST exams will be held in 107 Kedzie Hall.

Students who score below 70 percent are allowed to retake the test up to two more times. However, students can only take the test once per week. 

To assist students in their preparation for the CST a practice exam and video tutorial are available in the "Course Content" section of KSU Online once students have registered for the CST. We also suggest the following tips, links and resources: