1. K-State home
  2. »JMC
  3. »News and events
  4. »Miller School students earn KAB scholarships

A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Miller School students earn KAB scholarships

Two Kansas State students were among the 13 college students across Kansas who earned scholarships from the Kansas Association of Broadcasters for the 2014-15 school year. Shelby Brunk, of Kansas City Kansas, and Lindsay McNary, of Sabetha, Kansas, were both recognized by the KAB.

KAB will award $16,000 in scholarships to Kansas students attending colleges and universities in the state next school year. That brings the total scholarships provided broadcast students since 1988 to $296,000.

To earn the scholarship students must be a Kansas resident attending a post-secondary institution, enrolled full time in a broadcast related curriculum and maintain a 2.5 or higher GPA. Applicants were interviewed in person by a select committee of KAB members including Chairperson Olivia Dorsey of KMBC-TV - Kansas City, Cliff Shank of Ad Aspra Per Aspera Broadcasting - Hutchinson, Jim Allan of KTPK-FM - Topeka, Justin Fluke of KNZA-FM - Hiawatha, and Kent Cornish, KAB President/Executive.