1. K-State home
  2. »JMC
  3. »Academics
  4. »Scholarship Information
  5. »Non-Departmental Scholarships

A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Non-Departmental Scholarships

SPJ Kansas Pro Chapter Journalism Scholarships

The chapter expects to offer scholarships totaling at least $11,000 this year to deserving college sophomores, juniors and seniors planning careers in journalism in Kansas. For more information on these scholarships click here. 

Marjorie J. and Richard L.D. Morse Family and Community Public Policy Scholarship

K-State undergraduate students are encouraged to apply by March 28 for the Marjorie J. and Richard L.D. Morse Family and Community Public Policy Scholarship. The $3,00 award supports a student with a summer project or internship. His or her work could be through a local, state or federal government or with a non-profit organization. 

The student's project can address a wide range of issues, but at its core, it must focus on strengthening families and building stronger communities. It must also encourage related public policy that improves the quality of family and community life. 

For more information, please contact Jane Schillie, 785-532-6017, schillie@ksu.edu. 

Click here for more information and to apply. 

Professor Douglas K. Benson Award

The Professor Douglas K. Benson Award is a $1,000 student scholarship for the 2018-2019 academic year. Eligible candidates are currently enrolled full time students with a 3.0 GPA or higher. The scholarship recipient must attend K-State as an undergraduate student during the 2018-2019 academic year. 

Click here for more information. 


Mark Chapman Scholars Program

Exclusively for A&S students, we have five Chapman Scholarships to give out.  The Chapman strives to help students undertake meaningful experiences early in their college career. Thus, the Chapman provides $3,000 to fund a meaningful summer experience plus an additional $2,000 in scholarship support for the following academic year. Students are eligible to apply in their first or second year of full-time college attendance.

For information visit here.