1. K-State home
  2. »JMC
  3. »News
  4. »Collegian Media Group Awards

A.Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications

 A. Q. Miller School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Kansas State University
105 Kedzie Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-1501

785-532-5484 fax

Collegian Media Group publications receive Gold All-Kansas ratings. JMC student named 2020 Kansas Journalist of the Year. 


The Kansas State Collegian, 2019 Royal Purple yearbook and Manhappenin' magazine all received Gold All-Kansas ratings from the Kansas Collegiate Media association. The Gold All-Kansas rating is the highest given by the organization.

Student Media

The announcement, which was made Friday, also named Kaylie McLaughlin, Collegian editor-in-chief and junior in journalism, as the 2020 Kansas Journalist of the Year.  

2020 Kansas Journalist of the Year
📸: Olivia Bergmeier | Collegian Media Group


Collegian Media Group students also earned 29 individual awards.

Manhappenin' Magazine awards: Cover Design - fall 2019, Abby Pfannenstiel, Second Place; Feature Photography - Halle Lang, Kate Torline, Hannah Greer, Honorable Mention; Bare Feature Photos - Halle Lang, Kate Torline, Mackenzie Smith, First place; Headline Design - Caroline Fullerton, First place; Feature Writing - Madi Fleming, Mary Beth Karlin, Second place; Feature Writing - Natalie Leonard, First place; Page design - Natalie Jaeger, Third place; Table of contents design - Abby Pfannensteil, First place.

Royal Purple awards: Cover Design - 2019 Insight, Ashley Read, First place. Feature Photography - Olvia Bergmeier, Second place. Headline Design, Courtney Honn, Third place. News/Event Photography - Alanud Alanazi, Honorable mention; Alex Todd, First place. News Event Writing - Brianna Wolmack, Second place and Hallie Everett, First place. Page Design - Katie Harbert, Honorable mention and Leah Brock, First place. Sports/Action Photography - Alex Todd, Honorable mention and Third place; Logan Wassall and Alex Todd, First place.

Collegian awards: Feature Writing - Dene Dryden, Third place. Illustration and Graphics - Julie Frejat, Honorable mention. Ilustration and Infographics - Olivia Bergmeier, Honorable mention. New/Event Photography - Dylan Connell, First place. News/Event Writing - Bailey Britton and Rafael Garcia, First place. Social Media storytelling - Oliva Rogers, Katelin Woods, Kaylie McLaughlin, Honorable mention. Special section - Rachael Hogan, Kaylie McLaughlin, Katelin Woods, Third place; Sports/Action Photography - Logan Wassall, First place.